Erin Phillips wins AFLW best and fairest for second time after Adelaide Crows premiership win


April 02, 2019 22:39:42

Adelaide star Erin Phillips has dominated the AFLW awards night, comfortably winning her second best and fairest honour.

Two days after the Crows won the premiership, the Adelaide co-captain was also named skipper of the All-Australian team for the first time.

Phillips attended Tuesday night’s awards function in Melbourne after rupturing the anterior cruciate ligament in her left knee during the grand final win over Carlton.

She was best afield in Sunday’s clash at Adelaide Oval, which attracted a record crowd of more than 53,000.

Phillips was the overwhelming favourite to win the best and fairest award and she had an unbeatable lead with two of the seven rounds of votes still to be counted.

She polled 19 out of a possible 21 votes, with five best-afield performances.

Her ruptured ACL will require a knee reconstruction, meaning several months of rehabilitation.

“It’s obviously been an emotional last few days. When you live one of the best days and the worst days in one, it’s a lot,” Phillips said.

While accepting the major award, Phillips also confirmed she turned down interviewing for a head coaching job in the WNBA because it would have meant missing out on a third AFLW season.

While Phillips also made the 2017 All-Australian team, this is the first time she has captained the honorary team.

On Monday, the 33-year-old Australian Rules and basketball star comfortably won the AFL Players Association award for the second time.

But she was not among the three players who have made all three AFLW All-Australian teams.

That honour went to Crows co-captain Chelsea Randall, last year’s AFLW best and fairest winner Emma Kearney (North Melbourne) and Melbourne’s Karen Paxman.

Randall was also named vice-captain of the All-Australian line-up.

The team of 21 featured 16 on-field positions and five interchange.

Adelaide had five players in the team and expansion team North Melbourne had four representatives.

Carlton’s Maddie Prespakis, the number three draft pick last October, won the Rising Star award and also made the All-Australian team.

GWS were the only team not represented in the All-Australian lineup.

AFLW 2019 All Australian team

B: Ash Brazill (Collingwood), Meg McDonald (Geelong Cats)

HB: Jess Duffin (Kangaroos), Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows), Kerryn Harrington (Carlton)

C: Emma Kearney (Kangaroos), Kiara Bowers (Fremantle), Karen Paxman (Melbourne)

HF: Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows), Jasmine Garner (Kangaroos), Monique Conti (Western Bulldogs)

F: Gemma Houghton (Fremantle), Stevie Lee Thompson (Adelaide Crows)

Foll: Lauren Pearce (Melbourne), Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide Crows), Madison Prespakis (Carlton)

I: Emma King (Kangaroos), Gabbie Pound (Carlton), Ally Anderson (Brisbane Lions), Anne Hatchard (Adelaide Crows), Dana Hooker (Fremantle).






First posted

April 02, 2019 22:30:21

Source link

About the Author

Australia News
More Than 20 Years in News and jobs

Be the first to comment on "Erin Phillips wins AFLW best and fairest for second time after Adelaide Crows premiership win"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: