Gladys Berejiklian’s new cabinet lineup gives renewed focus to NSW regions | Australia news

The New South Wales premier, Gladys Berejiklian, and her deputy, John Barilaro, have unveiled the new cabinet lineup, giving a renewed focus to the regions after the countryside swung away from the coalition at the state election.

Andrew Constance will remain in charge of transport and Brad Hazzard will hold on to health but the Nationals’ Paul Toole will take charge of regional transport and roads.

Fellow Nationals Melinda Pavey and Adam Marshall have also been given prominent roles in areas that hurt the Liberal-Nationals coalition on 23 March.

Pavey is bringing “fresh eyes” to the water portfolio partly, replacing the besieged Niall Blair, while Marshall will take the remainder of his former territory – as minister for agriculture and western NSW.

The deputy Liberal leader, Dominic Perrottet, remains as treasurer.

In other changes, Rob Stokes has been returned to the planning portfolio in the new cabinet, with development – particularly in Sydney – becoming a major issue.

David Elliott has been made police minister, while Sarah Mitchell takes over from Stokes as education minister.

Anthony Roberts moves from planning to the counter-terrorism and corrections portfolio.

The fair trading minister, Matt Kean, has been given the newly combined energy and environment portfolio while Damien Tudehope has taken on finance.

Two MPs, Gabrielle Upton and Ray Williams, announced on Saturday they would not seek reappointment in the ministry. Blair announced straight after the election that he would go to the backbench.

Source link

About the Author

Australia News
More Than 20 Years in News and jobs

Be the first to comment on "Gladys Berejiklian’s new cabinet lineup gives renewed focus to NSW regions | Australia news"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: